Jakub Hrůša & Leonidas Kavakos

Jakub Hrůša & Leonidas Kavakos

Jakub Hrůša (Foto: Marian Lenhard)

Jakub Hrůša & Leonidas Kavakos

Wed 25. Jun 2025 19.30 Grosse Tonhalle
Wed 25. Jun 2025 21.30 Konzertfoyer
Thu 26. Jun 2025 19.00 Konzertfoyer
Thu 26. Jun 2025 19.30 Grosse Tonhalle
Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich
Jakub Hrůša Conductor
Leonidas Kavakos Violine
Dmitri Schostakowitsch Violinkonzert Nr. 1 a-Moll op. 77
Igor Strawinsky «Le sacre du printemps»


26. Jun 2025, 19.00 Uhr

Prices CHF 145 / 120 / 95 / 70 / 35
Organizer Tonhalle-Gesellschaft Zürich AG
Playlist Schostakowitsch und Strawinsky

This season kicked off with Stravinsky's "Firebird" suite, and Jakub Hrůša and our orchestra are now celebrating "Le sacre du printemps" almost at the end. The ballet caused one of the biggest scandals in music history when it premiered in Paris in 1913. Shostakovich's Violin Concerto No. 1, on the other hand, was not even allowed to be played for a long time – partly because of its references to Jewish folk music. Today, both compositions are among the key works of the classical repertoire: not least because they have retained their explosive, highly emotional power for musicians and audiences alike.

Translated with DeepL.com